Asaduddin Owaisi Awarded ‘Parliamentarian of the Year’


Asaduddin Owasi and seven other members of the parliament are among those selected for the award including Rashtriya Janta Dal parliamentarian Manoj Jha.

Asaduddin Owaisi Awarded Parliamentarian of the Year
Asaduddin Owaisi Awarded Parliamentarian of the Year

All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) President Asaduddin Owaisi has been selected as ‘Parliamentarian of the Year’ by the Lokmat Parliamentary Awards 2022.

Along with Owasi seven other members of the parliament have been chosen for the awards including Rashtriya Janta Dal parliamentarian Manoj Jha in different categories.

Both Asaduddin Owaisi and Manoj Kumar Jha are known for highlighting concerns affecting the common public in parliament.

The Hyderabad MP took to Twitter to announce the honour and tweeted, “Just found out I’ve been awarded “Parliamentarian of the Year” by #LokmatParliamentaryAwards. Thanks to
@lokmat for the honour. MPs have to hold govt accountable. From PMAY to #Pegasus to foreigners’ tribunals, I’ve used my position in public interest & will continue to do so”

read more: India Expresses Concerns as Pakistan Proposes ‘Anti-Islamophobia Day’ in UN

A.K. Antony, Bhartruhari Mahtab of the BJD, Derek O’Brien of the Trinamool Congress, Vandana Chavan of the NCP, and Tejaswi Surya and Locket Chatterjee, both BJP MPs, are among the other Parliamentarians unanimously picked by a ‘Board of Jury’ for the awards.

Antony and Mahtab have been selected for the ‘Lifetime Achievement’ category; Chavan and Chatterjee are for the ‘Best Women Parliamentarian of the Year’ award while Surya and Jha have been chosen in the ‘Best Debutant’ category.

The Lokmat Parliamentary Awards are given to the outstanding Parliamentarians for their contribution in eight different categories (four each from Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha) every year, a release from the publication said.

The Board Jury headed by NCP president Sharad Pawar and comprised former Union Ministers Ghulam Nabi Azad; Suresh Prabhu; RSP’s N.K. Premachandran; former Rajya Sabha secretary general Yogendra Narayan; founder Editor-in-Chief The Print, Shekhar Gupta; News Director, TV9 Bharatvarsh, Hemant Sharma; Lokmat editorial board chairman and former Rajya Sabha MP Vijay Darda; Senior Editor, Sharad Gupta, and National Editor, Lokmat group Harish Gupta.

The Board of Jury studied the parliamentary contribution for the year 2020 and 2021 of all MPS to select the winners.

The awards function could not be held for two years due to the Covid pandemic.

About Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

TOP 10 BOLLYWOOD SONGS FOR HOLI 2023 15 Highest Rated Indian Movies on IMDb 10 Best Foods For Brains Best Netflix Movies Ever PM Modi’s Diwali Location Since 2014