Lakhimpur Kheri: The Chronology Behind the Massacre


As of now nine people have been killed in the Lakhimpur Kheri massacre including four farmers and a journalist.

By the Newster

Farmers attacked in Lakhimpur Kheri
Farmers attacked in Lakhimpur Kheri

On Sunday, a car owned by BJP’s minister Ajay Mishra Teni ran over protestors killing 4 of them and left many injured in Uttar Pradesh’s Lakhimpur Kheri. Farmers alleged that minister’s son Ashish Mishra was also there in the car with other killers.

Following the brutal massacre, the protesting farmers went berserk and killed the driver and three others who allegedly carried out the attack.

Few days earlier, a video clip of Toni went viral in which he was purportedly threatening farmers protesting in Lakhimpur. He said, targeting farmers, “I will fix you all in two minutes.”

Meanwhile Ajay Mishra, termed the event as conspiracy against him and said that his son (Ashish Mishra) was not present at the site. As reported in the Tribune, “My son was not even present at the spot… the allegations against him are false… there is video evidence proving this.”

FIR Lodged Against Teni’s Son Ashish for Killing Farmers

The Lakhimpur Kheri Police has registered an FIR against the Union Minister of State for Home Ajay Mishra’s son Ashish Mishra under section 302 of the IPC and inciting violence. 15 others were also booked under same charges pertaining to the massacre.

Samuykta Kisan Morcha, earlier had claimed that Ashish’s car mowed down farmers who were peacefully protesting against the three farm laws. However, Ashish is still at large.

Opposition Stopped from reaching Lakhimpur Kheri

Following the controversy over the killings of farmers, many opposition leaders tried to reach out to the bereaved family of farmers but were stopped by the police.

Read More: First Time MLA Sangeeta Balwant Made Cabinet Minister in UP Govt; Her Caste is All it Took

One name who comes up before everyone is of Congress leader Priyanka Gandhi. Gandhi along with Deepener Singh Hooda, UP Congress state president Ajay Singh Lallu, party MLC Deepak Singh and others. The police said that the aforementioned leaders are arrested to “prevent the commission of cognizable offence”.

Samajwadi Party chief was also among the people who were arrested in relation to the farmers’ killing in Lakhimpur Kheri. AAP leader Sanjay Singh among hundreds were stopped from reaching the protest site in Lakhimpur Kheri.

45 lakh announced to quell the issue

In the run up to UP assembly election and measuring the gravity of the issue, the Uttar Pradesh government has announced 45 lakh as in compensation to the victims’ family.

About Author

One thought on “Lakhimpur Kheri: The Chronology Behind the Massacre

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

15 Highest Rated Indian Movies on IMDb 10 Best Foods For Brains Best Netflix Movies Ever PM Modi’s Diwali Location Since 2014 10 Unknown Facts About Diwali