Nine T20 World Cup Records You Should Know Before Tournament Begins


T20 World Cup: The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup is the international competition organised by the ICC and is the shortest form of cricket. Earlier, ICC Men’s T20 WC was known as  ICC World Twenty20. The competition currently has 16 teams competing against each other, and they are chosen based on their ICC T20 rankings. 

The idea for T20 cricket in England was initially put out by Stuart Robertson, marketing manager for the England Cricket Board (ECB).

The International Cricket Council (ICC) decided to conduct a World Cup every two years as a result of the tremendous success of regional championships. In this manner, the first ICC T20 WC took place in 2007. India beat Pakistan in the T20 world cup tournament’s maiden season in 2007, which was held in South Africa. 

West Indies is currently the most successful team in the T20 cricket World Championship; they have won the T20 WC title twice (2012 and 2016). In 2021, Australia won the T20 world championship.

Now you may look for numerous T20 WC Records before the T20 WC begins.

Most Sixes in T20 World Cup

Chris Gayle (63 Sixes in 33 Matches)

West Indies left-handed batter Chris Gayle now holds the record for the T20 WC’s most sixes hit.

Most Wickets by an Individual

Hasan Shakib (41 Wickets in 31 Matches): Bangladeshi left-arm spinner Shakib Al Hasan now owns the record for taking the most wickets in the T20 WC from 2007 to 2009.

Most MoS Winner

Virat Kohli is the only player in the history of T20 WC to win the man of the series award twice.

Most Successful Team in T20 World Cup

West Indies are the only team to win the T20 WC title twice ever since the inception of the tournament in 2007.

Highest Opening Partnership

The highest partnerships came in the last T20 WC between Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan of Pakistan in the UAE.

Highest run conceded in an over

Stuart Broad conceded 36 runs against India in a T20 WC over in 2007 to set the record for most runs scored in an over (6,6,6,6,6,6)

Highest run scored in an over

Yuvraj Singh’s (12 balls) fastest T20 WC fifty was against England in 2007.

Highest runs conceded in an innings

Sanath Jayasuriya (64 runs) against Pakistan in the 2007 World Cup held the record for the most runs allowed in an inning in a T20 game.

Top run scorer in the T20 World Cup

Mahela Jayawardene scored 1016 runs for Sri Lanka in 31 games at the T20 WC. Jayawardene only participated in five seasons between 2007 and 2014.

More Stories Here

About Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Best Netflix Movies Ever PM Modi’s Diwali Location Since 2014 10 Unknown Facts About Diwali This Celeb Was Born On Diwali
Best Netflix Movies Ever PM Modi’s Diwali Location Since 2014 10 Unknown Facts About Diwali This Celeb Was Born On Diwali